Vogue Knitting is a magazine that people tend to love or hate with nothing in between. It is the sister magazine to the popular fashion oriented Vogue in an attempt to bring high fashion into knitwear. Sometimes it works, but most of the time Vogue Knitting fails to bring wearable high fashion into the limelight and instead focuses on runway style fashions that only the tall and willowy can wear well. That’s why I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the recent trend back into more traditional fashions that the magazine has taken with its Spring/Summer 2015 edition and the recently released Early Fall 2015 edition.

Vogue Knitting SpringSummer 2015I have to admit that the only reason I picked up the Spring/Summer 2015 magazine was for an article on Haapsalu Lace by Nancy Bush and an article promising a piece of double knitted lace that was advertised on the cover. I have a soft spot for lace so articles advertising it often make me at least pick up the magazine to investigate further. I was pleased to find that instead of having models twisted in odd poses to hide some sort of odd seam or weird drape, this issue had models that looked like they were just standing around. Encouraged, I went on and found that there are several interesting patterns in the magazine including summer weight cardigans/sweaters and shells as well as a sock with vertical colorwork as well as the lace I mentioned previously.

Vogue Knitting Early Fall 2015When the Early Fall 2015 magazine came out, I was expecting Vogue to be back to its old tricks, but was treated to a variety of patterns in the season’s signature color (such as the two color pink and white raglan) and interesting Paris inspired patterns. The Zebra print scarf is both big enough to double as a shawl and bold enough to make people look twice at the accessory. I wasn’t as impressed with the articles as I was with the last issue, but that is really a personal preference with what I find interesting in the knitting world.

The only real complaint I have is that it is find to find the pattern names in the front of the magazine with the picture and then find it again at the back where the patterns start. I understand not having to flip through a full pattern that you may not care about, but having the same name in both the front and the back parts make the patterns easier to find.

I am still unsure if this trend back to the wearable knits is going to last with Vogue Knitting which is the only reason why I’m debating over purchasing a year long subscription to them instead of waiting to check them out at my local library first. I think I might give them one more season to make up my mind.

