Tags

, ,

White Sock WIP 2Even though the weekend was full of rain and traffic jams, it was nice to get away from our little town for a moment and go visiting my fiancé‘s side of the family. His father is a bit more traditional than on my side of the family which means I got lots of time to sit down and knit on the white socks I’ve been working on.

I’ve made a pair of socks with this version of the garter rib pattern before. That was when I didn’t realize that there was a difference in the fit of your socks if you don’t adjust for the negative ease when doing any patterns from Sensational Knitted Socks. This time, I decided to re-arrange the stitches on the needles so that the garter sections of the ribbing were centered on the instep on the sock. There is barely any difference on the socks other than there is a knit stitch on each side of the instep. Even better, I like the effect of the 1×1 ribbing on the cuff and the 2×2 ribbing pattern on the body of the sock.

The other thing I learned this weekend is that the wedge toe that I normally make on my socks is exactly one and a half inches long instead of the full two inches that I thought it was. That meant I had to rip out my entire completed toe and knit another half an inch so that the sock can be eight inches long on the foot instead of seven and a half inches. While a seven and a half inch sock could fit a person with an eight inch foot, it is more comfortable if the measurements match.

Hopefully, the second sock won’t be as slow to knit up as the first one does. I guess I’ll have to be careful around kitchen appliances this time around!

