Tags

, ,

Day 10: Do you have a favorite pattern or designer?

If you had asked me this question a mere two years ago, I would have told you that my favorite designer was Cookie A for her fabulous and complicated sock designs. But after some serious consideration, I have to say that she is not my favorite designer anymore because (while she is a fabulous designer) there are too many people out there making fantastic, complicated socks and other accessories.

If you had asked me a question a year ago, I would have told you that my favorite designer is a fussy old English woman with a penchant for simple garter stitch creations and you would have rolled your eyes because I was another person who loves Elizabeth Zimmerman.

My favorite designer doesn’t have any pattern books that I know of and she doesn’t have any books explaining how to re-produce patterns that she has created. Instead, my current favorite designer is the compiler of stitch dictionaries: the illustrious Barbara Walker.

As I am able to strike out on my own with my knitting thanks to the confidence that Cookie A and Elizabeth Zimmerman have given me, I have come to appreciate the stitch dictionaries that just tell me what I can do and leave the rest of the dreaming, designing, and creating up to me.

