Day 5: How long did it take from the time your learned how to knit, to finish your first project?

I learned how to knit in 2004, but my love for knitting didn’t take off until after two years later when my family had moved from the southern United States to the northern United States.

Until then, I had only learned how to cast-on, knit a row or two, and cast-off. I never, ever finished a project in those two years even though I learned how to knit because I didn’t realize if I kept going them I would be able to make anything. It wasn’t until my junior year of high school in 2006 that I felt determined to make anything and that was my white rolled brim hat.

In total, it took me about two years to gain the confidence and determination to cast-on and finish that hat.

Looking back, if it wasn’t the fact that I decided to read Little Women for the umpteenth time and if my mom didn’t decide that she was going to learn how to knit and showed me her progress on how she was doing, I probably wouldn’t have tried knitting again and fell in love with it.

