Day 6: What is your favorite piece that you’ve knit?

Mom's Flander's Bay SweaterMy first thought went to my enormous log-cabin blanket that took five years to complete, but then I got to thinking that while I use that blanket daily, it isn’t actually my favorite thing that I’ve knit.

My favorite thing is something I didn’t even make for myself. It was the sweater I made for my mother out of the yarn she got on her anniversary trip. My mom enjoys knitting as much as I do, but she was having hand trouble and was upset that she couldn’t make her anniversary sweater. So, she asked if I could do it and I agreed.

The pattern is the Flanders Bay Pullover by Kate Gagnon Osborn out of the Fall 2011 edition of Interweave Knits Magazine. It has slight waist shaping and little cap sleeves that came out wonderfully. The yarn that my mom picked out was Plymoth Yarn Baby Alpaca Worsted and while it is not machine washable in the slightest, it is so soft and warm that it has quickly become mom’s favorite sweater.

