Tags

,

Day 9: What fiber or yarn do you love working with?

A Splash of Sock YarnMy favorite type of fiber to work with is wool and my favorite type of yarn is fingering weight sock yarn, so wool sock yarn is what I work with most often. I don’t have enough experience with different breeds of wool yet to say which type of breed is my favorite. But, I seem to have a lot of merino yarn in my stash, so it is safe to say that I love the softness of merino.

I don’t only use fingering weight sock yarn for socks. I also use it for hats, fingerless mittens, scarves, and I even have plans for a sweater made out of it. I like it because it being sock yarn means that it is usually washable in the washer and it can usually be dried in the dryer. Even though it takes longer to knit up, it makes wonderful lightweight garments that can be used for years to come. Or can be used for years to come. Plus who doesn’t love a nice wool sock?

