Tags

, , , ,

Day 21: Do you knit gifts for friends and family for the holidays or birthdays?

Family Christmas Socks 2014Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. Last year I was trying to knit a pair of Christmas socks out of Knit Picks Felici Jingle, but I started too late and only got three done before the big day. I am still working on the pair of socks for my fiance that I am hoping to get done before the end of the month. I have to wait for my next Knit Picks order to get here though because I only have one set of sock needles in the size I use to knit socks and his have grown past what the tiny circular needle can actually hold.

The real trouble with knitting gifts for the holidays or for birthdays is that it is a lot of pressure. Sometimes you just don’t want that pressure and you want to knit what you want, when you want. Other times you just get in a rut and don’t feel like knitting for a while and having a timed project just takes the fun out of knitting. With this particular group of socks, it was the color that did me in. Even though I was working different patterns, I just got tired of the color and I didn’t want to look at it for a while.

