Day 25: Do you have a knitting book or a place where you keep patterns, ideas, size measurements? Post a picture of it!

This is a bit of a tricky question for me because I know the prompt is asking about an actual physical book or journal that you keep track of your projects, but I am an avid user of Ravelry and I am starting to keep my notes electronically as well as physically. So, I’ll tell you what I am starting to do with all of my notes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. Black spiral unlined notebook

When I first started getting ideas to design my own patterns, I started writing them down in this little notebook. It is a sketchbook with nice paper and unlined. I haven’t used it in a while since I have discovered that I would really prefer one with a grid so I can make my own charts easier. Apparently I can’t draw a straight line. I do have a page in the book that keeps track of what my gauge is with my sock needles and fingering weight yarn. I would love to expand this idea and keep track of my own personal gauge with different types of yarns and needles. That would be a long term project and I just haven’t felt the need to start it yet, but I will one day.

2. Ravelry

I keep most of my notes on my Ravelry project pages. I was only actively knitting for a few months before the launch of the Ravelry. I remember reading about Ravelry on the Yarn Harlot’s blog when it was first released to the public for beta testing and that was when it still had a one to two month waiting list. So, I have basically been on Ravelry since the start of my active knitting career. I just can’t imagine my life without it so naturally I keep track of everything on there. To be perfectly honest, Ravelry is the only reason why I started keeping track of what I had made and is probably one of the reasons why I have improved so much with my knitting.

3. Evernote

I have had Evernote for a couple of years now and I have never really figured out how to use it well. I used to use Microsoft OneNote in college, so while I was familiar with the idea of an electronic note-taking program I wasn’t really sure how to use it. It is so big and open that it is almost paralyzing with all the options you can actually do with it. While I love Ravelry, I would like to keep some secrets in my knitting projects-like my size or all the really technical details that might bore other people to tears if they actually wanted to read through my project pages. As I am using Evernote more and more, I’ll talk about it on the blog about how I am liking it.

