Day 29: Do you have any tips, or things that you’ve learned from knitting?

Even though I have been knitting for more than ten years now, I always feel so unqualified to answer this type of question. I think it is because in my years of knitting I have learned something from it. There is no wrong way to knit. You could place ten knitters in a room and ask them to make a pair of socks for you and they will all do it differently, but come up with a wearable pair of socks.

However, I have learned a few things that have made my own knitting better.

1. Always take the time to take gauge with your needles.
My knitting has gotten even better when I took the time to see how many stitches I was getting with my knitting needles. Now I can make my socks fit my feet even better and I have learned why socks are normally knit with negative ease. It is my goal to get together all of my needles and take gauge with them with every weight of yarn so I have a list of what I get with what needles. In the long run, it should mean I spend less time swatching for projects and more time knitting them.

2. Take the time to knit for yourself every once in a while.
As much as I love knitting for other people, I have to remember that it is perfectly alright to knit for myself. After all, that is why I started knitting in the first place. To make things for myself so that I can have cool things for myself.

3. Knitting won’t yell at you and tell you that you are a horrible person.
Knitting also won’t cry and have its feelings hurt if you decide to ignore it for a while. It will always be there for you no matter how mad you are at it. It might make you feel stupid every once in a while, but that is only because you didn’t take the time to swatch the brand new to you stitch pattern and mis-read the directions.

4. Always take knitting with you to doctor’s appointments or places that have you wait.
It always amazes me how much more I can get done when I knit in the odd bits of time during the day. Even though I might only get a row or two done when I am out and about, it adds up pretty quickly. Plus, it makes other people jealous when they are bored out of their mind because they didn’t bring anything else to do and you are sitting there happy with your knitting needles.

5. Remember to be nice to other people, even if they insist that you are crocheting, because they might get you yarn.
Remember to be nice to people about your craft in general because people who don’t do what you do just don’t understand why you would do such a thing. This might go double for family because they might get you surprise yarn or fiber if they know you like knitting and spinning. But if you have people be blatantly rude to you for knitting, it is perfectly alright to firmly (but politely) correct them.

