Tags

, , ,

Ever since I joined Ravelry, I have been in the Sock Knitters Anonymous (SKA) board. They helped me learn how to knit socks and with a lot of reading I even learned how to fit the socks to my feet better. Now that I am a more accomplished sock knitter, I have decided that I want to join in on the fun this year and try to knit a pair of socks every month for their monthly knit-a-long.

This month the challenge is all about beads.

I have never knitted with beads before, so I think this is a good time to stretch my skills a bit. I figure that my Aunt deserves a nice pair of fancy socks to go with all of the plain socks I’ve been knitting for her and nothing is fancier than a bit of lace and beads.

Beaded Hedera WIPSince my Aunt decided to get a ball of Stroll Tonal in Pearlescent, I decided that the rainbow cream soda beads would work lovely with it. In real life, they are slightly pink and very iridescent. I managed to insert a bead into the “tail” stitch of the long tail cast on with every other stitch. The result looks a lot like a picot cast-on, so I’ve been calling it a beaded cast-on.

I’m planning on making the Hedera pattern from Cookie A’s Knit Sock Love. The pattern book has more sizes in it and since I prefer knitting my socks with more stitches per inch than Cookie does, I can easily make a better size. To make the sock more even on my needles, I’m also knitting it using only four DPNs instead of my usual five to make the stitch count work out in intervals of ten. It should be interesting when I have to divide for the heel, but we will see how that works out when I get there.

Now, this month there is also a Mystery Sock for the SKA group that I will be knitting. I know that some people don’t like spoilers, so I will make sure to put a warning at the beginning of my blog post so people don’t have to look at the progress pictures if they don’t want to. For those who browse through the WordPress Reader, I’ll make sure to put a featured “spoiler shield” and a warning in my excerpt. I haven’t cast-on that sock yet, but I have a three day weekend coming up so the sock will be cast-on soon!

