Tags

, , ,

Cotton Candy FOEven though I have been spinning for five years, it still amazes me that I can take raw wool and turn it into yarn. It is even better when you take plain white fiber and dye it before you spin it into yarn.

I didn’t think that the Kool-Aid would actually stay colorfast but it is. The pinks didn’t even bleed when I dipped them into the water. Normally reds, pinks, and purples are the colors that are most likely to bleed in the wash, so it was a nice surprise to see that this one didn’t.

I ended up taking the singles I spun and chain-plyed them to make a nice solid three ply. The yarn didn’t end up super squishy even though I spun it with a long draw because I put a lot of twist in the ply to make the finished project hold up better. It is also a little thick and thin at the end because I ended up spinning thicker at the end of the bobbin for some reason. I’m going to chalk that up to lack of practice, but considering this is my first long-draw yarn and it turned out to be a fairly consistent heavy fingering weight, I’m calling this a success.

The only thing that I haven’t been good about with my handspun is actually knitting it. I love spinning it and seeing how many different types of yarn I can spin, but part of the point of spinning my own yarn is actually knitting with it. After I finish up knitting the socks for my Aunt, I am going to take the plunge and try making a pair of socks out of this yarn. I’m pretty sure I have enough yardage to make a pair of vanilla socks.

