Tags

, , , , , ,

It has been a tradition for several years at my future Mother-In-Law’s house that her Christmas party is always the weekend before Christmas. I guess it is her way of being with her extended family for the holidays, but still have a smaller Christmas Day with her family. It makes perfect sense, but at the same time it always feels like I get to have two Christmas Days: one with my fiance’s mother and one with my family.

20151219_151703

This is a long way of saying that I was really busy this weekend with all the partying, but it was the first time where it didn’t feel a little suffocating. We didn’t spend all day at their house this year because my fiance had work and I was working on getting last-minute Christmas gifts ready. Instead, it was a lovely luncheon and a gathering of people we don’t get to see all the time.

Even the little tiny kids were really calm and subdued this year. Everybody just got along, which almost never happens on that side of the family. It was really, really fun and pleasant. I know I am saying that a lot, but it was just kinda magical.

20151220_231120

Of course, I did get a little bit of knitting done. I gave in and decided to start the last pair of socks so I didn’t have to deal with traveling with beads. For those of you who don’t immediately recognize the pattern, the last pair of socks will be a pair of Monkey Socks from Cookie A’s Knit.Sock.Love.  It is refreshing to revisit the first ever “real” sock pattern I knit and I forgot how quickly it knit up. Between the pastel colors and the familiar pattern, I feel like I’m just knitting candy for the holidays.

Speaking of the holidays, I better go back to the real world and finish up my last-minute holiday gift wrapping. I promise I won’t be finishing my wrapping on Christmas Day this year!

