Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Even though it doesn’t look like it, I do try to finish all of my old projects in the old year before the new year happens. I like the idea of starting the new year with a clean slate, but it just didn’t make it this year. Instead I’m gathering up everything so I can see what projects I have to finish.

10387999_758930434218849_1279877249_n_medium2Project 1: Beaded Hedera Socks

This lonely sock is the oldest project I have from this year. I started it back in September for the Sock Knitters Anonymous Beaded KAL. Even though it was a fairly easy knit, I think I was a little ambitious with the amount of beads that this sock actually takes. Since I don’t have a crochet hook small enough to bead these socks, I have been putting them on with a needle and thread which makes the project go really slowly.

12357606_514630988696748_211642634_n_medium2

Project 2: Sweet Monkeys Socks

This is my most recent project that I cast on. It is just a simple pair of Monkey socks knit in a variegated pastel sock yarn so sweet it makes your teeth hurt looking at it. The colorway is named Sweetie and it is the last sock yarn my Aunt Kathy sent to me. I’ve been waiting to work with it for a reward for all that gray sock yarn and I just couldn’t wait anymore.

This will probably be the first project I actually end up finishing just because I have been carrying it in my purse and I love the color. Not to mention, the pattern is super easy to memorize once you knit it a couple of times so it just goes so quickly.

20151019_100714Project 3: Glacier Travel Socks

These pair of socks are actually a WIP for my fiance that I started back in October. They were working up nicely and I was trying to do an afterthought heel with them when I abandoned them to try to finish up my Aunt’s Big Sock Commission™.

I do have to admit that I am unsure on if I want to go ahead with the plan and make an afterthought heel with both of the socks or rip back on the first sock and make a regular heel flap. I know those fit nicely and for some reason my heel flaps always play with the stripes on Felici quite nicely. On the other hand, I would have to rip out a good chunk of the first sock to do that. My fiance doesn’t care what I do as long as the socks fit. (Have I mentioned I love him so much? He just loves my socks and will wear any color on his feet.)

September Mock Clue 1Project 4: Tea. Earl Grey. Hot. Socks

The Mystery Sock project for the Sock Knitter’s Anonymous Beaded KAL. It was really this sock that made me have more than one project on the needles again, which I think got me into this whole multiple WIP mess again. As you can see, I didn’t get past the first cuff of Clue 1 before I had abandoned it for one of my commissioned socks.

They are nice socks, but I read on after the first clue and discovered that the majority of the beading is on the back of the sock instead of the front of the sock like I had thought. This project might not get completed as socks this time, but it isn’t headed for the frog pond either. I have a good idea for it.

1515686_953349938086228_1864990845_n_medium2Project 5: Moss Stitch Dishcloths

My fiance’s best friend recently got an apartment of his very own. He managed to work out a good deal with his landlord father to rent the space after the old tenants moved out. He loves my knitting and has tried knitting in the past, so I am sure that he will appreciate a few dishcloths. Plus, it gives me the opportunity to settle once and for all the question of moss stitch vs seed stitch.

Dyed Sock Yarn MinisSide Project: Kool-Aid Dyed Hexipuffs

I experimented with Kool-Aid dyeing back in August and made myself a few different mini-skeins of brightly (and some not so brightly) colored yarns using different techniques. I tried to get enough yarn to make two hexipuffs each out of what I dyed to see how the different techniques would knit up. The trouble is I haven’t even thought about knitting with them yet because of my other projects.

~♥~

As you can see, once I decided to have more than one project going on at a time my WIP pile exploded. Instead of getting lots done, I feel more overwhelmed at that list than anything. My first goal of this year is to complete all of these projects before starting anything new.

 

