Tags

, , , ,

I dislike the word confession since it implies that you have something that you need to feel guilty over, so I’m not going to use that word. Instead, I am going to tell my lovely readers that I have officially broken my no new yarn goal for 2016. I bought a ball of yarn and I am not a single way sorry for it. In fact, I feel good about buying it because it was the first yarn purchase that I made for the year (I would have already gotten three orders by this time last year) and  I carefully considered why I wanted the yarn before I purchased it.

As we all know, 2016 has been a rough year for music and film fans with the passing of both David Bowie and Alan Rickman. I grew up with Harry Potter (after I got a chip off my shoulder about reading it) and the movies introduced me to Alan Rickman in a big way. After the first meeting in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I went off to meet Alan Rickman in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and completely fell in love. So, when I went off to do some fantasy yarn shopping Harry Potter style, I fell in love with The Potions Master from Nomadic Yarns.

12728410_482925575234225_827716092_n_medium2

I went back and forth on buying this yarn for nearly two straight weeks. On one hand, I didn’t want to buy any yarn at all because I felt like I had way too much, especially sock yarn. On the other hand, I was sad and wanted a visual representation of a man I never met in person, but who helped bring one of my favorite childhood stories to life. I talked my reasons over with my fiance for two days of the tail end of those weeks and he helped confirm that I wasn’t yarn crazy and shouldn’t feel badly for wanting to purchase a single ball of sock yarn. And he is right. I know I want to spend less on yarn and buying one ball of sock yarn won’t break my budget or my overall goal of using up the stash I have.

So, I am very happy that I decided to get this ball of yarn from Nomadic Yarns. My order was a custom dyed to order job so it took almost a full month to get here, but I think the wait is worth it. I can’t wait to start knitting it up into a pair of socks for myself!

Edit: Happy 100th Post!

