Every year, there is a brief period of time in which I just don’t knit or do anything at all with knitting or spinning or any of my other crafting interests. I just put them down and completely walk away. I have no idea what makes me lose interest and become The Absent Knitter™, but once that period is over with it is back full steam with my knitting. 2016’s period of absence came much earlier than I expected it to. Normally it hits sometime in the summer when the weather is hot and nobody wants to work with warm wool and alpaca.

There are quite a few things happening in my crafting life at the moment. I have a new two pair sock commission for my fiance’s Uncle Jeff, I got my hands on a vintage knitting book, swatching pattern squares has become my new best friend, and my mom and I just ordered the deluxe edition of Weldon’s Practical Needlework from Interweave Press. So while this blog post might not be much more than a “don’t worry about me, I am still alive” shout-out, there will be a lot of new and exciting things happening in the nearby future.

In the meantime, happy knitting!

