Tags

, ,

Nerd Girl Order Teaser

If Monday felt like too much complaining, then never fear because Friday is going to have lots and lots of hype! Today I am going to be talking about an indie dyer that I have been following for a few years now and never could bring myself to pull the trigger and buy some of her yarn. Well, now I can officially say that I have popped my cherry because I have a box of Nerd Girl Yarns on my way to the dye pot and then (eventually) to me!

While the concept of Nerd Girl Yarns is fairly easy to explain, I feel like the shop actually does it the best so I will let them speak for themselves.

Every skein and fiber is dyed by hand and inspired by nature, books, movies, games, pop culture and fandoms. While you will find some items in stock, most of our colorways are dyed to order. Dyed to order is a semi-custom process of making each yarn or fiber colorway to order.

I’m not sure of where I heard of Nerd Girl Yarns first. It could have been in one of three places: The Knitmore Girls Podcast, Round the Twist with Carin, or Yarn Harlot. I am pretty sure that it was from one of the back issues of the Knitmore Girls podcast, but I honestly don’t remember and I guess it doesn’t really matter in the long run. But the shop made such an impression on me when I first found it with their Dr Who themed yarn that they stuck in my head for the longest time.

Since I have been doing sock commissions, I do have a little bit of pocket money to spare and I found three colorways that are gorgeous and that I would love to death. I tried to choose colors that gave me a variety instead of choosing all of the blue/grey Dr Who yarn:

  1. Blue Box Exploding (inspired from Van Gough’s Exploding Tardis Painting in Season 5, Episode 12)
  2. So Much More Than a Heartache (inspired from the Executioner in Alice: Madness Returns)
  3. Purple Man (inspired from Jessica Jone’s villan Killgrave aka the Purple Man)

The good thing about being super excited about these yarns is that I am trying really hard to finish the Gunkle Sock Commission so I can cast on one of these new yarns when it gets here. They say that I should give them two weeks to dye the yarn and then shipping time, so I am giving them about a month or so before I’m actually expecting anything. Yes, that is a long time to wait, but since I got to choose exactly what colors in the yarn base I wanted it is going to be worth it!

