Tags

, , , , , ,

20160424_234448For those who have already knit a Hitchhiker shawl, it will come as no surprise that I have been almost obsessively working on mine. I have knit twenty-six teeth of the pattern so far and the rows are starting to get really long. It is almost to the point where knitting an entire “tooth” will last me about 25-30 minutes. Of course, I haven’t really timed how long it takes me to knit, but I do like the feeling of completing an entire tooth before wandering off to do something else.

I only got eight teeth done with the blue yarn before I had to fade in the last Buckleberry Handspun. I didn’t realize how much my spinning had improved between the smaller purple and blue balls and the combined Buckleberry ball. I actually have to double strand the rest of the yarn to get it to a similar thickness that the rest of the shawl is in. Which isn’t a bad thing at all. It means that the very ends of the shawl will be nice and squishy for my friend. Adding another big ball does mean that I don’t know how many teeth I’m going to end up having in the completed shawl. My goal is to just knit until I almost run out of yarn and cast off.

20160424_234547

Not much more happened on the knitting front this weekend, but a lot happened in my room. I try super hard not to complain about sharing a single room in my parent’s house with my fiance. After all, I do love him and he loves me or else he wouldn’t be my fiance. But, when he moved in with me and we got his desktop computer up and running, we decided that we would share a desk.

Note: never try to share a work space with your spouse unless you are cooking. It just won’t work.

20160424_234426

Me + Workspace = Love!

So, this weekend we got him a nice desk at Target and I have my own desk back. I couldn’t be happier. I am facing a wall with my back toward the window, similar to my setup at college and I just feel more productive. The only downside is that I lost my comfy knitting chair (which is currently being stored in the garage), but having your own desk is so much more important right now.

 

