Tags

, , , , ,

I have been keeping a diary every since I was in middle school. Some years I wrote in it much more than other years. In high school, I insisted on calling it a journal to try to separate my musings from my younger self. I have watched them evolve from a Hello Bunny spiral blank book to a 400 page Italian leather bound book back to a simple Vader’s Little Princess softcover bound book.

Now, I have discovered that I might be keeping a different form of journal and one that borders more on a diary than anything. To make it even more fun and exciting, this one happens to be knitted!

Sock Diary Leftover Blanket WIP

For the past few days I have been going through my leftover sock yarn box and knitting tiny 2.5″ mitered squares. At first, I was going to have them oriented vertically a la the Heathen Housewife’s Sock Yarn Blanket, but when the Memory Blanket caught on I decided I liked the look of that better. Since I was also working on a Beekeeper’s Quilt when I remembered about the first Sock Yarn Blanket, I decided that this blanket is going to have a rule attached to it. It will only have one square of each unique color of sock yarn that I use. Basically, it is a knitted Sock Diary Leftover Blanket!

The “only one unique color” sounds restrictive, but it isn’t. As long as it is a different type of yarn, then I’ll add it. There are a few different grays on there right now because they are all different! The second row dark gray square is Patons Kroy and it is actually a marled yarn with one ply of dark gray and one ply of brown. The gray above that is a medium shade rainbow tweed that is the old Knit Picks Essential Tweed. Three squares down is a light gray tweed with natural colored tweed flecks that is the current Knit Picks Stroll Tweed. (Fun fact: Essential is thicker than Stroll even though it is supposed to be the “exact same yarn”.) I also have two more grays that I have to add in because they are different types of gray and have different looks (Knit Picks Stroll Dove Gray Heather and Knit Picks Stroll Tonal Pearlescent).

I am aiming for a queen size blanket, so this is going to be a long term project, but by the time I get done with it I should also have a big drawer full of socks for both my fiance and myself.

 

