After sitting down and thinking about it for a little while, I finally realized why I wasn’t blogging or knitting very much in the past two months even though I want to. It is because of my backlog of commission knitting.

While I do like knitting for other people and it feels nice to receive a bit of compensation for my skilled work, it often means that I don’t have any time to work on anything for myself. More likely, I feel like I don’t have time to work on anything for myself because I am busy knitting things for other people. Even if I did have more than one project going on, I would feel guilty that I wasn’t busy working on the commissioned project. Or sometimes commissioned projects depending on what turned up.

Instead of knitting, I have been turning to video gaming as a way to relax and have fun. That is when it really hit me. I would think of work every time I looked at my knitting and that is not a good thing. I don’t knit for my job and I don’t want to turn knitting into my job. I don’t want to have the joy sucked out of knitting so much that I never want to knit again.

This is why (with the exception of one other person because I already agreed to it), that I am not going to be accepting any more commissions after these last ones are done. I am not a sweatshop knitter, I don’t have to do craft shows, I don’t care if anyone loves my knitting so much that they would love to have a special creation from me. I’m done with it!

Sigh.

Now that I have that off my chest, it is time to get back to knitting the last sock in my commission. Next time: a rant on afterthought heels. Look out world! I’m on fire!

 

