Tags

, , , , , , ,

Cabled Hooded Vest 1If you had asked me two years ago what my favorite knitting magazine would be, I would have probably told you either Piecework or Interweave Knits. I would have never listed Vogue Knitting among one of my top knitting magazines since a few short years ago they were based with over the top runway trends that wouldn’t look good on anyone.

Now, I can happily say that Vogue Knitting is one of my favorite magazines and that I’m going to be taking it on my first big knitting adventure for myself.

I have been growing steadily unhappy with the current state of my wardrobe and I have been unwilling to give even the slightest thought of throwing everything out and starting over from scratch since I have had unrealistic body expectations in the past. Then I saw the Early Fall 2016 issue of Vogue Knitting and my whole mindset changed. I am more than willing to re-vamp my entire wardrobe to fit into a wearable style (that I can currently wear) and work on getting down to my goal body size. I am willing to accept that I may not be one of those tall willowy girls (and will never be tall or willowy), but I am sincerely tired of being overweight and not feeling good in my own clothes.

As the first step to body acceptance and willingness to change, I made the decision to knit myself a piece of clothing that could be easily layered with other clothes and still be able to be professional enough to wear to work: a hooded vest.

I fell in love with what Vogue Knitting dubs as the “Hooded Cable Vest” designed by Yoko Hatta. It is a slightly oversized hooded vest that is covered in honeycomb cable and twisted cable columns. The sample in Vogue Knitting was knit in a wool/alpaca/angora blend called Kenzie from the HiKoo/Skacel collection and is claimed to have an “on-trend fuzzy finish”.

Cabled Hooded Vest 2

I may not know very much about current fashion trends, but a fuzzy cabled hooded vest sounds delightfully cozy to me. I decided to substitute Knit Picks Reverie in this delicious deep purple called Royal. The photo does not do this yarn justice. The color is this majestic deep eggplant purple that my camera refuses to catch. Reverie is a baby alpaca/nylon blend and I think that it might even be a brushed yarn because it has a nice halo that gives the dubbed “on-trend fuzzy finish”.

Since I am not designing this myself and I am taking the time to follow a pattern, that means I am taking time to swatch. I know that a lot of people don’t like taking the time to make swatches, but I view it as prep-time to get used to the yarn and familiarize yourself with the fabric you are going to be making. Since I am used to smoother yarns, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to pick up an extra ball just for swatching. After all, I have heard that fuzzier yarns are harder to tink back to fix your mistakes and since this is heavily cabled, I wanted to make sure that I liked the fabric I was getting and I could pull off the stitch pattern with fuzzier yarn.

I am almost done with my stockinette swatch, so I will see if I am actually getting gauge soon. Of course I tried to measure my swatch in the very beginning baby stage to see if I would get gauge, but I decided to knit the whole thing anyway. So, I have a hunch from my earlier measurement that I will get gauge with the recommended needle size, but I don’t know that 100% for sure yet. All I know is that I’m really enjoying working with Reverie and I am excited to knit the pattern swatch up in the yarn to see how it will look like.

