Tags

, , , , ,

Spent the last three hours working on this crown motif and I'm not sure if I like how it turned out.

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

I know I am being a little lazy with just embedding some Instagram picture, but they are the best detail shots that I actually have of my current project. I am making a hat and it hasn’t turned out exactly as planned, but it sure is cute! I was in the middle of knitting this row of crowns when I decided it needed to be beaded. Yes, I am the type of person who is crazy enough to bead my first real attempt at Fair Isle knitting.

I really like how it turned out because the floats actually provide a cushion for the bead to sit on so it won’t be up against your skin (or hair as the case is with hats). These beads are small enough not to be caught on anything, but it is something useful to know if you ever want to bead a Fair Isle project on a larger scale with bigger beads.

I am really proud of this detail of one of the hearts on this row. I ended up making a small mistake on the third row of the heart and went with it to come up with this checkered heart. It just so happened that this heart landed dead center on the front of the hat if you use the starting jog as the back of the hat. I couldn’t have planned it better myself!

I really like how this looks and I actually plan on doing it again all across the row as a stable pattern. I think it would look adorably cute!

I am on the crown decreases of the hat now and I should be done with it soon. The long part of knitting this hat won’t be the actual knitting, but the finishing because there are a lot of ends to weave in that I decided not to knit in for some reason. But it will be worth it!

