Tags

, ,

Sometimes, you just want to relax and watch something on television that takes you out of all of the issues or problems you might be having with your current situation. There is nothing like a good round of escapism for a few hours, especially if you like to craft because you can often do both at the same time! So, I wanted to take a minute and talk about the latest slightly older series that I have been hooked on for the past week thanks to Netflix: Pretty Little Liars.

pretty-little-liarsPretty Little Liars is based on a book series by the same name written by Sara Shepard. Working in InterLibrary Loans, I have sent some of these titles out and read the backs of the books with a faint sense of having seen this somewhere before. Somewhere in the back of my mind I was remembering the series launched by ABC Family and remembered that I had tried watching it with my mom. One of the nights that I had to stay up until midnight, I launched Netflix and started watching it from the beginning and I was completely hooked.

For those of you who enjoy both murder mystery dramas and teenage soap operas, you are in for a treat if you haven’t seen it already. The brief synopsis of the series is there was a group of friends (the classical “It Girls”) who shared secrets with each other and generally stirred up the normal teenage drama. One night (after a binge of underage drinking) the leader of the gang (Alison) mysteriously disappeared. Fast forward to one year later and the remaining girls had drifted apart only to be reunited by the uncovering of Alison’s dead body and a set of mysterious texts sent to the girls signed by A.

Yes, there are some cheesy parts based on the fact that this is a teenage crime mystery drama and there are only so many places you can go surrounded by school events. But, the characters are compelling and the mystery of A and who killed Alison is compelling enough to keep you coming back episode after episode. There are seven seasons of Pretty Little Liars so far with six of them being on Netflix, so there is more than enough to last you through a few months of viewing. I would recommend easy knitting for this show because there are some seriously tense parts and some great jump scares in the first season alone. I am only on the tail end of Season Two, so I still have a lot ahead of me!

