Tags

, , , ,

My Mom and Dad went to hang out at the beaches in North Carolina for a week, so I am at home watching Beau and the cats (they took Baylee with them). For the past few days, I have been forced to stay up late (fiance’s midnight hours) and get up super early (up before the crack of dawn) because that is when Beau wakes up and needs to go outside. This is the first time I’ve been awake enough to make some weak chai tea and burn bacon and eggs on the still new gas stove for breakfast.

Somebody is being a good boy around my wheel!

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

I did manage to introduce Beau to my spinning wheel after a hasty eight minute emergency clean up of my bedroom. He was wonderful with it! Of course, he had to sniff it, but as long as it was running he would settle right down and chew on the doggy rope. It was when it was stopped he wanted to get up and sniff the wheel or sniff the bobbins, but there was no loud barking or lunging to get at it. I was worried about it because I caught him trying to chew on the clawed wooden legs of our family room sofa set, but it looks like Beau has not developed a taste for stained wood.

Juice Box Baby Socks

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

There was a little bit of knitting going on in between my constant spinning. I finished the baby socks made out of Knit Picks Stroll Handpainted leftovers in Juice Box. I still have a good amount of leftovers left to make hexipuffs and scrap socks with, so I am very happy with the baby socks. I still haven’t figured out the finer points of short row heels yet, so I might make another pair soon. I still have another handpainted colorway that tiny baby socks would be appreciated in.

Speaking of socks, I have not had the headspace to actually sit down and knit on my SKA September Mystery Socks Neverland and Oz by Heidi Nick. I managed to do a total of two rows on them the other day. Two rows! And I am a person who is comfortable with reading a chart and doing cables without a cable needle. Beau has seemed to settle down the longer my parents are out on their vacation, so I might be able to sit down and actually finish at least clue one tonight. Yeah, I’m still on clue one when clue four is coming out this week. They aren’t hard to knit, but they do require some concentration.

The main reason why  I’m frustrated with not being able to knit on my socks quickly is that I really wanted to wear them to Rhinebeck since my Mom and I are going this year! The weather has been really hot this year, so I’m not too worried about having a Rhinebeck sweater this year. I don’t think it will be cool enough to wear it and since I am more of a sock knitter I wanted a nice pair of socks to wear instead. My family is coming back home this weekend, so I will have some time to work on them and hopefully get them done in time to wear.

