Tags

, , , , ,

It has been a crazy couple of weeks here lately and it will just keep getting crazier for a little while. Not only will I be running back and forth from my house and the apartment for a week of super cleaning to get it ready to move into, I will be participating in this year’s week of crazy spinning known as Spinzilla!

What exactly is Spinzilla? It is a friendly spinning competition hosted by The National Needlework Association (TNNA) and it is designed to get spinners spinning and talking about spinning to raise awareness that people still spin by hand and weave (or knit, crochet, and whatever) with it. I signed up to spin with Team Kromski since I have a beautiful Kromski Sonata and I am excited to see how much yardage we can spin on our wheels.

Today is the first day of Spinzilla and I started off with a bang!

Since I spent nearly all of last night cleaning apartments, I just grabbed the first thing that really grabbed my eye out of my bin of spinning fluff and decided to spin thick! It is the leftover two ounces of my Chamelion Colorworks BFL braid that my friend Laura got me to spin a long time ago. I had previously spun it up into a thin fingering weight three ply, so I thought that chunky and bumpy would make a great companion to what I have already spun.

I love spinning BFL. The resulting yarn is so shiny it looks like it was blended with silk or bamboo, but it is 100% wool. It looks like it is a thick and thin worsted weight, but I won’t know until I wash it. Until then I have two empty bobbins and several bundles of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes roving. The big question is do I spin thin or should I spin up some more chunky lovelies?

