Tags

, , ,

Since Spinzilla is a special week of spinning, I wanted to do a blog post tracking my progress each day. The only downside of this idea is that I will be doing each blog post pretty late at night after I get done spinning for the day and they will probably be short.

Today I spun a four ounce bundle of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Roving in Tidepool Heather. It was such a delight to spin! It says it is Peruvian Wool of some sort, but even though they don’t list the exact breed, it is treated in a way that makes it really easy to draft. I would suggest this roving to beginning spinners or advanced spinners who just want to play with some color.

As satisfying as spinning thicker is right now, I think I am going to go back to spinning thinner tomorrow. I have some more Knit Picks Roving in a nice chocolatey Espresso brown and a lovely deep Sapphire Blue. My plan is to spin them up on separate bobbins and then chain ply them together at the same time to make a 6 ply yarn. Hopefully I’ll be able to spin them thin enough to make a fingering/sport weight yarn at the end, but we will see how it goes.

