Tags

, ,

After spinning as much as I could for a solid week, it feels strange to think about not spinning for a little bit. In fact, I am really ready for some knitting or even some cross stitch for some less frantic stitching and a nice change of pace. Don’t get me wrong, I loved participating in Spinzilla, but I am looking forward to doing something else for a little bit.

I managed to spin a Monster Mile!

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

I am a bit amazed with exactly how much I managed to accomplish in the past week! I managed to outspin what I normally do in a year of spinning easily. Because we can count the yardage with both spinning and plying, I managed to spin a grand total of 1,797 yards! I spun a little over a mile of yarn in a week and earned my place in the Monster Mile Club for my very first Spinzilla!

It was fun to pretend that I was a production spinner for a week, but I learned that I wouldn’t like to be expected to produce like this every week. I feel so blessed that I don’t have to spin my own yarn and make my own clothes for my family because that would have to be a full time job all on its own.

My skeins aren’t washed yet, so I don’t have a good calculation of exactly what weight they are yet, but I am looking forward to knitting with my thicker yarns. I hope that they will be dry in time for me to make a quick handspun cowl to wear to Rhinebeck next weekend (so close, so far away!). My thinner yarns were really fun to make and they will end up being made into a hat for my fiance for the winter.

I hope everyone had fun with me as I spun my way through Spinzilla 2016. If you don’t spin yet, I encourage you to give it a try! If you do spin, spin more and share pictures with everyone!

