Tags

, , , , , , ,

face-of-boe-hitchhiker-wip-bookEven though I have known about Douglas Adams’ Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy for a while now, this is the first time I have actually sat down to read it. I have to say that it has easily become one of my favorite books because it has managed to make reading fun for me again instead of something I feel like I have to do. I don’t laugh at books easily, but this one made me laugh so hard that my laughter infected my in-laws and they started laughing just because I was laughing so helplessly. I am super excited that the Hitchhiker’s Guide Universe contains at least four more books and a few transcripts from radio shows. I couldn’t care less about what happens to Arthur Dent, but I really want to travel more with Ford Prefect and the gang to go on wild adventures through the universe. I really need to get myself a towel!

This is the fastest I have knitted a complete project in a while. The Hitchhiker Shawl only took me ten days to knit (most likely because I get all the free time to knit at my in-laws). I am super impressed by the yardage I got out of Nerd Girl Yarns Shimma. I managed to knit 40 teeth on this Hitchhiker with only a few yards left at the end (enough to make a tiny Barbie sized skein).

Looking at the 25,347 projects in Ravelry, it looks like most people flat out ignore the gauge directions in the pattern and follow the needle size suggestion. Which means that most people (unless they are a loose knitter or have a 150 gram skein of yarn) need more than one skein of sock yarn to make it to a complete 42 teeth. I just wanted to make it clear to those people that the gauge is actually 21 stitches to 4 inches or 5.25 stitches an inch. According to that direction, then 100 grams of sock yarn will be enough to make a full size 42 teeth Hitchhiker Shawl. I ended up knitting mine at 6 stitches an inch instead of 5.25 stitches and inch and I got a whopping 40 teeth! But I had to use a US 5/3.75mm needle to get that gauge. This means that Martina Behm must be a loose knitter if she gets that gauge with US 2.5/3mm needles. I wanted to put this out there because some people are disappointed when they don’t reach 42 teeth with one skein.

That being said, I don’t think I would knit fingering weight yarn at that loose gauge that the pattern suggests. That is just a bit too loose for me and I would probably stick to 6 stitches an inch when I knit this again (and Martina Behm’s other fingering weight shawl/shawlette patterns). I had so much fun knitting this that I already have plans to make myself another one (42 teeth this time) and I have plans to make one for my friend who really admired it when I wore it to work yesterday. I think everyone should have a Hitchhiker Shawl because it is as much fun to wear as it is to knit.

