Tags

, , , ,

The only bad part about being engaged with another person is that you have a lot of Christmas to cover when you link together two families. Especially if one of those families is divorced and you suddenly have three separate families all with different holiday traditions. It’s a lot of fun and a lot of traveling all at the same time. The traveling is the part that tires you out the most and leaves you wishing that you had one more day to sleep when you have to wake up early the next day to go to work and deal with travel fatigue all at the same time.

And for all of my complaining, let’s face the truth here: I would do it again in a heartbeat because I love seeing all of my family. Even if I do tick off my cat by disappearing for a day and having my mom look after her food dish.

I love it when my self striping socks turn out to be a fraternal pair instead of a close to identical pair.

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

The nice part about visiting family is that I always get some time to knit, which means more time to work on my socks! Have I mentioned before that I love working on socks as a great travel project? They are small, easily to transport, and even the most vanilla sock that you can imagine is super impressive to a non-knitter. Which means that you will always have your family fawning over your socks with an awe-struck “you made that?” and “can I see it?” and “that is so impressive, I could never do that!”. Self-striping yarn is even more impressive to the non-knitter because (unless they ask and you tell them) they just assume that you knit with more of one ball of yarn for each color which looks like even more work to them. And everyone I know loves colorful stripes, so the more colorful your socks are, the more impressed they are by them.

I have a bit more done on the socks than the picture, but not by very much. I have been hoping to get one of my sock projects done by the end of the year, but we will see how far I get on them since we only have four days left in 2016.

