Tags

, ,

marled-magicStephen West just announced that he  is having a wild and wonderful Marled Magic Mystery Shawl Knit A Long! Thankfully, the pattern is written for fingering weight held double and I do have a few skeins that I have either mispurchased (or not purchased enough on accident) or changed my mind about a couple of skeins. Plus I have quite a few skeins of hand spun that is the right size just sitting around with absolutely no plans for any of it. I do love working with my hand spun, but I have no idea how to use it. Especially the skeins I got out of my early spinning career when I was really focusing on getting down to fingering weight and experimenting with smaller batches. What better way to use those than in a big and wonderful shawl?

I have to admit that I don’t normally work very well with mystery patterns. I do like knowing how my object is going to look ahead of time so that I know if I would like it or not, but this is a shawl so it shouldn’t be so bad. It isn’t like a sock where I have major preferences in top down vs toe up or what sort of heel I want to use.

Gathering my palette for Stephen West's new Magic Marl Mystery Shawl KAL.

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

This pattern does use a lot of yarn because you are holding it double. I have started working on choosing my palette of yarns. I have made some changes to it already since I took the picture, but not very major ones. I mostly took out the cotton yarns since they weren’t meshing very well with the overall color tone of the rest of the yarn. I am thinking about adding one of the skeins of pink and green back in to the pile though because the pink does brighten things up a bit. I am also going to go back to my stash and grab a ball of Stroll Glimmer to throw in here. I am debating between going with the spare white I have or choosing the dark grey. I’ll have to take pictures and compare the two.

Luckily for me, the official start date of the Mystery KAL isn’t until March 3. Until then, I’ll be hanging out in the Ravelry group dedicated to this KAL and becoming all sorts of inspired by everyone’s stash choices.

