Tags

, , , ,

marled-magicSo, I wrote out this entire blog post only to have WordPress gobble it up completely when I had to edit one thing on it! That is really, really frustrating! If this blog post gets a little rambling, it is because I have written this out twice now. Hopefully the second time will go a bit smoother.

The first clue for the Marled Magic Mystery KAL with Stephen West was released last Friday! Surprisingly, I didn’t knit on it very much but it was also a big weekend for gamers with the release of the new Nintendo Switch and Zelda: Breath of the Wild. A new system and a brand new Zelda game to explore? How can I say no to spending a few hours with that instead of my knitting? Plus, I had a surprisingly busy weekend filled with fun, friends, and late nights. Where is my weekend so I can recover from my weekend?

In all seriousness, I’ll stop “complaining” over my fun weekend and skip to the content that I know all my readers are waiting for. WARNING: SPOILERS, SWEETIE

I ended up adjusting my big yarn pile from the last time I showed off my mystery knitting preparation. I decided against most of the elastic cotton sock yarn except for one ball of pink and green (because I can’t just leave out all of the pink in a wild and crazy marled shawl for the Queen of Pink over here). In replacement, I threw in some more sparkles with Knit Picks Glimmer in Kestral and White. I like how those two colors work with the pile a lot better than the brown and both balls of pink and green did. I just have to admit to myself that I am going to have a darker shawl than some people and that is totally alright. After all, I wear many more dark colors than I do neon colors anyway.

The first three color changes in my mesh section for the #marledmagicmkal!

A post shared by MegWesley (@megwesley) on

The first section is a big mesh section and it is really fun to knit. It is knit with a constant marl which means that one color stays the same while you change the second color. I ended up riffing off of the blue in my variegated yarn and fading up from dark blue to white. I do have enough similar colors to fade through nearly all of my colors from this, but I decided against it at the last moment. It is a bit longer than how it is shown right now, but not by that much.

The main reason I haven’t been knitting on it more is because it is a small section right now and my cable is curling like mad since it has been in storage for a long time. I need to find my cable key to undo the cables and connect a smaller cable on for this section alone. Then I’ll switch back to the longer cable at the beginning of section two where I will probably need the extra length. This will probably be my only constant knitting for a while because I want to keep up with the KAL this time, so you will be seeing many more spoilers along my journey. If any of you decide to join or just follow along, there is the Mystery KAL group on Ravelry and the hashag #westknits or #marledmagicmkal on Instagram. Also, I love conversation, so feel free to leave a comment if you end up joining along.

